Off-Campus Login
When you select an electronic resource (database, journal, etc.) from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your campus email address (including the @odu.edu) and your student ID number. Use your 8 digit University ID Number (UIN). For more detailed information, click here.
Key Resources:
Finding Company Information
- Business Searching Interface
Provides an enhanced searching interface to Business Source Complete that allows easy access to company profiles (including Datamonitor reports), industry profiles, market research reports and country reports.
- Find company information
- Type in your company name
- Under the Filter Results by tab, select Company Profiles or select SWOT Analysis.
The Datamonitor Company Profile report includes a business description, competitors, products and services and more.
- Factiva
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
- Find company information
- Click on Companies/Markets tab at the top of the screen.
- Click on Company.
- Look up your company by name or ticker.
- The Company Snapshot includes a description of the business, current news articles and company peer group/competitors
Click on Additional Company Links to access company website information. - Click on Reports > then using the pull down menu select Ratio Comparison Report for company ratios.
- Mergent Online
Provides access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, including business description, SEC filings, Annual reports, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock.
- Click "Enter Mergent Online" tab
- Look up your company by name or ticker symbol.
- Click on the company name to select
- Use the tabs at the top of the screen to view company information, including history, financial information, annual reports,competitors, SEC filings and more.
- LexisNexis Academic
- Click Companies tab on the left side of screen
- Click SEC Filings to find 10k reports.
- Click Companies Profiles to find Hoover's Company Records Reports and more.
- Click Dossier Compare Companies to compare up to five companies.
- Company Websites
A company's website is often a good source of information. It may contain a company history, press releases, 10k reports and other SEC filings, and other valuable information. Be sure to search the site's employment page for information on the company's philosophy and additional workforce information. When viewing the company's commercial website, be sure to click on "About(company name)" or investors to get access to the company's corporate information.
- OneSource
International Company Information.
Username: olddominion, password:odu2011 - Available until February 24th.
Finding Country Profiles and Overview
Mergent Online
Find in-depth Country reports, includes economic overview & figures, geography, history, people, demographics,government overview and infrastructure overview.
Find Country Reports
- Under Country Profile, use the pull down menu and select your Country. A PDF document will open automatically
IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook
Includes all the information from the IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook, which analyzes and ranks the ability of nations to create and maintain an environment that sustains the competitiveness of enterprises. It covers countries and regional economies using 331 criteria, grouped into 4 main factors: economic performance, government efficiency, business efficiency, and infrastructure.
Find Country Information
- Click on Country Profiles
- Under Country List select your Country.
Click on the criteria to find specific statistical data .
Business Searching Interface
Provides an enhanced searching interface to Business Source Complete that allows easy access to company profiles (including Datamonitor reports), industry profiles, market research reports and country reports.
Find country profiles and Industry profiles by country
- Click on Advanced Search tab.
- On the right hand side under Browse click on Country Reports
- In the Browse for: box type in your country then click Browse.
Find Industry Profiles by Country
- Click on Basic Search tab
- Find industry reports by typing in your country name and the name of your industry, ex. Poland and Automobile Industry, then click Industry Report.
Country Information Websites
- Doing Business.....
"Sponsored by the World Bank, this databases provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement. Indicators cover topics such as starting a business, employing workers, paying taxes, getting credit, and more.
- Find Country Reports
- In the upper right hand corner go to "Select an economy" using the pull down menu highlight your country.
- International Telecommunications Union:
This page contains links to telecommunication statistics compiled by national telecommunication ministries, regulatory agencies and industry associations as well as international organizations and consultancies.
Finding Company Articles and Current News
Use the following databases to search for specific articles about your company. When searching you may also add specific search terms such as culture, personnel, management, innovation etc. Search example: Apple and management, Apple and personnel Apple and technology
- ABI/Inform Global
Contains business and management related full-text articles from North American and worldwide research.
- Find articles
- Enter a company name in the first box
- Change the field to be searched to Company/Org
- In the second box type in search terms such as personnel, management, innovation, culture etc.(separate searches for each term)
- Click Search
- Business Source Complete
Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles.
- Enter a company name in the first box
- Change the field to be searched to "CO Company Entity"
- In the second box type in search terms such as personnel, management, innovation, culture etc.(separate searches for each term)
- Click "Search"
- Factiva
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.
- Find articles
- In the search box, type in your search statement
- Example: Apple AND customers
- Click Run Search to see results.
Finding Books
Citing Information
Page Coordinator: Miriam Bridges mbridges@odu.edu
This URL: http://www.lib.odu.edu/subjectguides/page.phtml?page_id=129

|